Lebanon's leading ski resorts

Lebanon is a country with a landscape particularly favourable to sports activities such as skiing. In this country where snowy mountains rub shoulders with the beaches of the Mediterranean Sea, many snow sports enthusiasts come here every year. Lebanon is also one of the only places in the Middle East where one can practice skiing freely. With its numerous ski resorts, the Cedar country has something to delight all ski lovers of all levels.

Let's start with Faraya Mzaar, the most famous ski resort in Lebanon, if not the Middle East. It is less than an hour from Beirut, at an altitude of 1,800m, on the heights of Kesrouan. Faraya Mzaar is also the best equipped and trendiest resort in the country. It has many chic restaurants, 5-star hotels as well as Night Clubs to get all these young people moving. At first sight, Faraya Mzaar looks like a mini Courchevel surrounded by luxury chalets. Its particularity? It offers a ski area of more than 80 km, with 42 slopes and more than 20 ski lifts. You will find a good quality of powder and a landscape opening directly on the Mediterranean.

Then there is the Cedars station, located about 130 km from Beirut. It is the oldest ski resort in Lebanon and also the most mythical. The path leading to this resort passes through the holy valley of Qadisha and Bcharré, the birthplace of the poet Khalil Gibran. The Cedars of God Forest, one of the last remnants of the ancient cedar forest of Lebanon, is located right at the foot of the slopes, offering an idyllic landscape to skiers. The trail is open but you can also reach the highest peak in Lebanon by chairlift.

Another popular ski resort in Lebanon is the Faqra Club. Located between 1,735 and 1,975 m altitude at the foot of Mount Sanine, this resort offers a dozen slopes for all levels. It was designed in 1974 with the help of Swiss architects. It is also one of the first private ski resorts in the world. Only members of the Faqra Club and their guests can access this resort. This resort is particularly popular because from the top of the slopes, there is a breathtaking view of the Beirut Sea.

For a family ski holiday, prefer the Laklouk resort. This Lebanese resort, located about 60 km from Beirut, is perfect for a small budget as the access is particularly affordable. On the same road, you can also see the monastery of Saint Charbel.

To test the good quality of the Lebanese snow, opt for the Qanat Bakiche resort. Located one hour from Beirut, this resort faces the Sannine mountains. It welcomes skiers of all levels. Many ski enthusiasts choose to stop at Qanat Bakiche before visiting the village of Baskinta which is famous for its ski resort. This old village is one of the oldest cities in Lebanon and also one of the best preserved, as it has kept most of its original architecture and green spaces.

View this post on Instagram

It's really the most beautiful time of the year 💙💙 ⬇ PHOTO OF THE DAY🌟Jan🌟05🌟2020 📷 _____________________________________________ 🔘 Location: #qanatbakish #lebanon ⭐ Photos credit by @joellerizq🏆▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡⓡ ⓞ ⓝ ⓖ ⓡ ⓐ ⓣ ⓤ ⓛ ⓣ ⓘ ⓞ ⓝ ⓐ follow @thankyoulebanon Tag #thankyoulebanon 🔝 #beirut #livelovelebanon #livelovebeirut #beautifuldestinations #bekaa #dubai #greece #switzerland #living_europe #mtl #mykonos #nakedplanet #australia #canada #mauritius #paris #passionpassport #explorebc #nyc #usa #الرياض #السعودية #الامارات #دبي #قطر

A post shared by Thank You Lebanon (@thankyoulebanon) we

If you're just passing through Lebanon, but want to go skiing, try Zaarour, the closest resort to Beirut. Located only 55 km from Beirut (about 30 minutes away), this resort is best known for its family-friendly activities. In addition to skiing, there are many other possibilities on the slopes of Zaarour, such as walking to the top of the slopes with a chairlift, snowboarding, snow tubing, sledging for children, etc.

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

Les stations de ski phares du Liban

Le Liban est un pays au paysage particulièrement favorable aux activités sportives comme le ski. Dans ce pays où les montagnes enneigées côtoient les plages de la Méditerranée, les adeptes de sports de glisse sont nombreux à venir chaque année. Le Liban est d’ailleurs l’un des seuls endroits au Moyen-Orient où l’on peut pratiquer du ski librement. Avec ses nombreuses stations de ski, le pays du Cèdre a de quoi régaler tous les amateurs de ski, de tous les niveaux.

View this post on Instagram

Enquanto Beirute é chamada de 'Paris do Oriente Médio', o Líbano é conhecido como 'Suíça do Oriente' por causa das suas estações de esqui e os muitos chalés alpinos nos vales nevados, como estes em Mzaar Kfardebian, Monte Líbano 🇱🇧 While Beirut is called the 'Paris of the Middle East', Lebanon is know as the 'Switzerland of the East' because of its ski resorts and many alpine chalets in the snowy valleys like these in Mzaar Kfardebian, Mount Lebanon #mzaar #kfardebian #faraya #livelovekfardebian #kfardebianlovers #lebanesewinter #winter #snow #snowinlebanon #ski #skileb #skilebanon #montelibano #mountlebanon #lebanon #livelovelebanon #libano #libano_brasil

A post shared by Líbano-Brasil 🇱🇧🇧🇷 (@libano_brasil) on

Commençons par Faraya Mzaar, la station de ski la plus connue du Liban, pour ne pas dire du Moyen-Orient. Elle se trouve à moins d’une heure de Beyrouth, à une altitude de 1 800m, sur les hauteurs du Kesrouan. Faraya Mzaar, c’est aussi la station la mieux équipée et la plus branchée du pays. Elle compte de nombreux restaurants chics, d’hôtels de 5 étoiles ainsi que de Night Club pour faire bouger toute cette jeunesse. A première vue, Faraya Mzaar ressemble à un mini Courchevel entourée de chalets de luxe. Sa particularité ? Elle propose un domaine skiable de plus de 80 km, avec 42 pistes et plus de 20 remontées mécaniques. Vous y trouverez une bonne qualité de poudreuse et un paysage ouvrant directement sur la Méditerranée.

Ensuite, il y a la station des Cèdres, située à environ 130 km de Beyrouth. Il s’agit de la plus ancienne station de ski du Liban et également la plus mythique. Le chemin qui mène vers cette station passe par la vallée sainte de la Qadisha et Bcharré, le village natal du poète Khalil Gibran. La forêt des Cèdres de Dieu, un des derniers vestiges de l’ancienne forêt des cèdres du Liban, se trouve juste au pied des pistes, offrant un paysage idyllique aux skieurs. La piste est ouverte mais vous pouvez également rejoindre le plus haut sommet du Liban en télésiège.

Une autre station de ski très appréciée au Liban, le Faqra Club. Située entre 1 735 et 1 975 m d’altitude au pied du mont Sanine, cette station propose une dizaine de pistes pour tous les niveaux. Elle a été conçue en 1974 avec l’aide d’architectes suisses. Il s’agit également de l’une des premières stations de ski privées au monde. Seuls les membres du Faqra Club et leurs invités peuvent accéder à cette station. Cette station est particulièrement appréciée car du haut des pistes, on a une vue imprenable sur la mer de Beyrouth.

Pour un séjour ski en famille, préférez la station Laklouk. Cette station libanaise, située à environ 60 km de Beyrouth, est parfaite pour un petit budget car l’accès y est particulièrement abordable. Sur la même route, vous pouvez aussi voir le monastère de Saint Charbel.

Pour tester la bonne qualité de la neige libanaise, optez pour la station Qanat Bakiche. Située à une heure de Beyrouth, cette station fait face aux montagnes de Sannine. Elle accueille tous les skieurs de tous les niveaux. Beaucoup d’adeptes du ski choisissent de faire escale à la station Qanat Bakiche avant de visiter le village de Baskinta qui fait sa renommée. Ce vieux village est l’une des plus anciennes villes du Liban et aussi la mieux conservée, car elle a gardé la plupart de son architecture originale et ses espaces verts.

View this post on Instagram

It's really the most beautiful time of the year 💙💙 ⬇ PHOTO OF THE DAY🌟Jan🌟05🌟2020 📷 _____________________________________________ 🔘 Location: #qanatbakish #lebanon ⭐ Photos credit by @joellerizq🏆▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ⓒ ⓞ ⓝ ⓖ ⓡ ⓐ ⓣ ⓤ ⓛ ⓐ ⓣ ⓘ ⓞ ⓝ ⓢ follow @thankyoulebanon Tag #thankyoulebanon 🔝 #beirut #livelovelebanon #livelovebeirut #beautifuldestinations #bekaa #dubai #greece #switzerland #living_europe #mtl #mykonos #nakedplanet #australia #canada #mauritius #paris #passionpassport #explorebc #nyc #usa #الرياض #السعودية #الامارات #دبي #ابوظبي #قطر

A post shared by Thank You Lebanon (@thankyoulebanon) on

Si vous n’êtes que de passage au Liban, mais que vous souhaitez faire du ski, essayez Zaarour, la station la plus proche de Beyrouth. Située à seulement 55 km de Beyrouth (30 minutes environ), cette station est surtout connue pour ses activités spécialement dédiées à la famille. Outre le ski, d’autres possibilités s’offrent à vous sur les pistes de Zaarour : promenade au sommet des pistes en télésiège, Snowboarding, Snow tubing, luges pour enfants, etc.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *