Horch Ehden Nature Reserve

Horch Ehden is a mythical place whose landscapes are a true emblem of the Lebanese forest heritage. It is one of the most beautiful natural reserves in Lebanon where the environment and biodiversity are at the heart of all action. A place located 3.5 km north of Ehden, a beautiful village known for its souk and its square, vestiges of the Middle Ages.

Built on a backdrop of snow in winter or bright sunshine in summer, the Horch Ehden nature reserve is dominated by a forest massif whose wealth exceeds all expectations. This exceptional place is worth a visit all year round, whatever the season. It is also this mythical forest that inspired Jabbour Douaihy, the Lebanese writer who won the Saint-Exupéry prize in 2000 for his illustrated book entitled "The Soul of the Horch Ehden Forest".

Perched in the mountains, 30 km east of Tripoli, the Horch Ehden nature reserve has majestic cherry trees. Trees that offer generous fleshy fruits to walkers from the first meters of the trail. The ascent can be quite long up to the "hairy" oak tree that marks the entrance to the reserve. On the path, the sun is strong, but the air remains light, giving rhythm to all hikers.

In concrete terms, the Horch Ehden forest is a unique collection of conifers, evergreen and deciduous trees. It is ideally located in a remote phyto-climatic region with a very varied topography.

The Horch Ehden Nature Reserve is home to exceptional biodiversity, representing 3 of Lebanon's 9 biogeographical zones. It is a site of national importance where some 1058 plant species including 39 trees (pine, fir, cedar...) are planted. The reserve also has 26 species of mammals (mice, foxes, wolfhounds, squirrels...), 300 species of mushrooms, 23 species of amphibians (snakes, snakes...) and 156 species of birds (eagles, falcons, pelicans...) of which 57 are rare.

The diversity of flora and fauna in the Horch Ehden nature reserve is remarkable. They contrast cheerfully with the colours of nature, offering idyllic landscapes to visitors. A true tourist attraction, this place is full of activities to be enjoyed all year round: mountain biking, hiking, climbing, birdwatching, van tours, stargazing, archery, snowshoe hiking, guided tours and other awareness-raising activities for the whole family.

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

La réserve naturelle de Horch Ehden

Horch Ehden est un endroit mythique dont les paysages constituent un véritable emblème du patrimoine forestier libanais. C’est l’une des plus belles réserves naturelles du Liban où l’environnement et la biodiversité sont au cœur de toute action. Un endroit situé à 3,5 km du nord d’Ehden, un beau village connu pour son souk et sa place, vestiges du Moyen-âge.

Bâtie sur fond de neige en hiver ou de soleil lumineux en été, la réserve naturelle de Horch Ehden est dominée par un massif forestier dont la richesse excède toutes les espérances. Cet endroit exceptionnel mérite le détour tout au long de l’année, quelle que soit la saison. C’est aussi cette forêt mythique qui a inspiré Jabbour Douaihy, l’écrivain libanais qui a remporté le prix Saint-Exupéry en main 2000 pour son ouvrage illustré intitulé « L’âme de la forêt Horch Ehden ».

Perchée dans les montagnes, à 30 km à l’Est de Tripoli, la réserve naturelle d’Horch Ehden compte de majestueux cerisiers. Des arbres qui offrent de généreux fruits charnus aux promeneurs dès les premiers mètres du sentier. L’ascension peut se révéler assez long jusqu’au chêne « chevelu » qui marque l’entrée de la réserve. Sur le chemin, le soleil tape fort, mais l’air reste léger, donnant le rythme à tous les randonneurs.

Concrètement, la forêt de Horch Ehden est un ensemble unique de conifères, d’arbres à feuilles persistantes et d’arbres à feuilles caduques. Elle bénéficie d’un emplacement idéal, dans une région phyto-climatique isolée dotée d’une topographie très variée.

La réserve naturelle de Horch Ehden héberge une biodiversité exceptionnelle, représentant 3 des 9 zones biogéographiques du Liban. C’est un site d’une importance nationale où quelques 1058 espèces de plantes dont 39 arbres (pin, sapin, cèdres…) sont plantées. La réserve compte également 26 espèces de mammifères (souris, renard, chien-loup, écureuil…), 300 espèces de champignons, 23 espèces d’amphibiens (couleuvres, serpents…) et 156 espèces d’oiseaux (aigle, faucon, pélican…) dont 57 sont rares.

La diversité de la faune et de la flore de la réserve naturelle de Horch Ehden est remarquable. Elles contrastent joyeusement avec les couleurs de la nature, offrant des paysages idylliques aux visiteurs. Véritable lieu touristique, cet endroit regorge d’activités à pratiquer tout au long de l’année : VTT, randonnées pédestres, escalade, ornithologie, visites en van, observation des étoiles, tir à l’arc, randonnées en raquettes,  visites guidées et autres activités de sensibilisation pour toute la famille.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *