The Bekaa Valley

On vacation in Lebanon? Then it's time to organize a special day dedicated to an outing with friends or family to visit... the famous Bekaa Valley!

The Bekaa, an altitude plain of about 900 meters, stretching in length from north to south, and bordered by the massifs of Mount Lebanon on the one hand and those of Anti-Lebanon on the other, is home to many tourist attractions such as the temples of Bacchus, Zahle, Jupiter and Venus or Anjar, the cradle of the Umayyads.

View this post on Instagram

Back to work 🚜 #LiveLoveBekaa by @riadkhairallah

A post shared by Live Love Bekaa (@livelovebekaa) on...

Return to Roman times with an impromptu visit to the ancient city of Baalbek, located in the north of the valley. Listed as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO for its ancient ruins, including the majestic Temple of Bacchus, the Temple of Venus, the Temple of Jupiter and its six granite columns, this place is well worth the detour to enrich your cultural knowledge of the city and its surroundings.

View this post on Instagram

1900 years of history 🏛 by @plus961

A post shared by Live Love Bekaa (@livelovebekaa) on...

Particularly appreciated by the Lebanese, the regional capital Zahlé is located further south, in a charming wine-growing area that owes its fame to its many gastronomic specialties as well as to Arak, the local aniseed alcohol. A must taste!

On the road, a little further south, lies Anjar, the only site that still houses the remains of a known civilization, the Umayyad dynasty (660 - 750). The ruins of the Umayyad architecture, the ruins of a Grand Palace, a Small Palace, a mosque and the Baths will certainly impress you.

In the heart of the Bekaa valley, there are also a number of restaurants that offer you a breathtaking view of the plateau. Tawlet Ammiq, for example, offers an organic and very tasty Lebanese menu. The ideal place to eat in an eco-responsible place with a breathtaking view.

Al Shams Restaurant is also popular for its magical recipe of batata balloonet (fried potatoes in the shape of airbags), to be enjoyed at will, while gazing at the horizon of Anjar.

Wine lovers, head to Château Kefraya, where vineyards as far as the eye can see await you for an exceptional visit. A short tour of the cellars and the surrounding area will punctuate your outings with friends or family with a very enriching cultural discovery.

View this post on Instagram

Closer to nature 💐#LiveLoveBekaa by @traveljunkiediary

A post shared by Live Love Bekaa (@livelovebekaa) on...

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

Libshop, healthy food 🌯🌱

Our nuggets, by mail

La vallée de la Bekaa

En vacances au Liban ? Alors il est temps d’organiser une journée spéciale dédiée à une sortie entre amis ou en famille pour visiter… la fameuse vallée de la Bekaa !

La Bekaa, une plaine d’altitude de 900 mètres environ, s’étalant en longueur du nord au sud, et bordée par les massifs du Mont Liban d’une part et ceux de l’Anti-Liban de l’autre, abrite de nombreuses attractions touristiques comme les temples de Bacchus, Zahlé, Jupiter et Venus ou encore Anjar, le berceau des Omeyyades.

View this post on Instagram

Back to work 🚜 #LiveLoveBekaa by @riadkhairallah

A post shared by Live Love Bekaa (@livelovebekaa) on

Retour à l’époque romaine grâce à une visite improvisée dans la cité antique de Baalbek, située au nord de la vallée. Classée au patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO pour ses ruines antiques, notamment le majestueux Temple de Bacchus, le Temple de Vénus, le Temple de Jupiter et ses six colonnes de granit, cet endroit mérite le détour pour enrichir vos connaissances culturelles sur la ville et ses alentours.

View this post on Instagram

1900 years of history 🏛 by @plus961

A post shared by Live Love Bekaa (@livelovebekaa) on

Particulièrement apprécié des Libanais, la capitale régionale Zahlé se trouve plus au sud, dans un cadre viticole charmant qui doit sa renommée à ses nombreuses spécialités gastronomiques ainsi qu’à l’Arak, l’alcool anisé local. A absolument goûter !

Sur la route, un peu plus au sud, se trouve Anjar, l’unique site qui abrite encore les vestiges d’une civilisation connue, la dynastie des Omeyyades (660 – 750). Témoins de l’architecture omeyyade, les ruines d’un Grand Palais, d’un Petit Palais, d’une mosquée et des Thermes vont certainement vous impressionner.

Au cœur de la vallée de la Bekaa, nichent aussi un certain nombre de restaurants qui vous offrent une vue imprenable sur le plateau. Tawlet Ammiq par exemple, propose un menu Libanais organique et très goûteux. L’endroit idéal pour vous restaurer dans un lieu eco-responsable avec une vue imprenable.

Al Shams Restaurant plaît également pour sa recette magique de batata ballonet (des pommes de terre frites en forme de coussins gonflables), à déguster à volonté, tout en fixant du regard l’horizon de Anjar.

Adeptes de vins, dirigez-vous au Château Kefraya, où des vignes à perte de vue vous attendent pour une visite d’exception. Un petit tour dans les caves et les alentours ponctueront vos sorties entre amis ou en famille d’une découverte culturelle très enrichissante.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

“Le Liban by Libshop”

Retrouvez notre guide touristique “Le Liban by Libshop”.

Des lieux incontournables aux pépites cachées, notre guide est à garder près de vous si vous visitez le Liban !

Nos pépites, par mail