Mark Mikael is the new Gemmayzeh!

Valérie

July 17, 2019

No Comments

Mar Mikhael, the new Gemayzeh

Beirut and its lively neighbourhoods are no longer to be presented. Tourists, locals and expatriates alike now know all the best spots for day and night outings in the capital.

Hey, this article is part of our ultimate guide to the best things to do in Lebanon. To browse it in its entirety and discover lots of other cool places, follow the link and keep it safe:

LEBANON: the ULTIMATE tourist guide, with the best places to visit!

Among the most popular, Mar Mikhael stands out for its high density of restaurants, bars, snack bars, cafes and pubs. The street of Armenia welcomes people day and night.

Following the golden age that the Gemmayzeh district experienced in the early 2000s, Mar Mikhael quickly became after 2010 the favourite place for all the great restaurateurs of the capital. It is in this district that you will find the best brands of the city such as DIVVY, Enab, Frosty Palace, Tavolina or Internazionale. More than 50 establishments have chosen to develop their business in the remaining square meters that litter the Cour St-Michel.

During the day, gastronomy, shopping and strolling are available to give a particularly lively atmosphere to the district. Mar Mikhael is popular for the wide variety of food it offers. Arriving on an empty stomach in this neighborhood is no problem for anyone, there is so much to see and eat. From one bar/pub to another, locals and foreigners alike enjoy browsing through different places to taste a Lebanese breakfast (labne, zaatar and jibneh), with tea and vegetables. All this in a friendly atmosphere, ideal to start a nice day.

With a full belly, it's time for a walk and shopping. The old pre-war buildings, the colourful old houses, the old railway station and the countless churches of Mar Mikhael offer an idyllic route for those interested in cultural tourism.

A little further on, shops of Lebanese and foreign designers line up to form the Mar Mikhael designers' district. Diane Ferjane, Vanina and Rosa Maria Concept Store for fashion fans; Mellow and Liwan for purchases of decorative furniture; and Aurora by Carolina and Ralph Masri to appreciate Lebanese jewelry.

For art lovers, Mar Mikhael also has important galleries such as the Tanit gallery, the Papercup bookshop, Nanou, Zawal or Plan Bey. So many shops that offer, in an artistic atmosphere, handcrafted objects, art books, photography and posters.

At the end of the day, and after a tasty dinner in one of the biggest restaurants in the neighbourhood, a festive and colourful atmosphere is added to the bill, for the most tenacious.

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

Libshop, healthy food 🌯🌱

Our nuggets, by mail

Mark Mikael is the new Gemmayzeh !

Valérie

17 juillet 2019

Pas de commentaire

Mar Mikhael, le nouveau Gemayzeh

Beyrouth et ses quartiers animés ne sont plus à présenter. Touristes, locaux et expatriés connaissent désormais tous les coins propices aux sorties diurnes et nocturnes dans la capitale.

Hey, cet article fait partie de notre guide ultime des meilleurs plans à faire au Liban. Pour le parcourir dans son intégralité et découvrir plein d’autres endroits sympas, suivez le lien et gardez-le bien précieusement :

LIBAN : le guide touristique ULTIME, avec les meilleurs endroits à visiter !

Parmi les plus appréciés, Mar Mikhael se distingue par sa forte densité de restaurants, bars, snacks, cafés et pubs. La rue d’Arménie accueille du monde de jour comme de nuit.

Suite à l’âge d’or qu’a connu le quartier de Gemmayzeh au début des années 2000, Mar Mikhael est devenu rapidement après 2010 le lieu de prédilection de tous les grands restaurateurs de la capitale. C’est d’ailleurs dans ce quartier que l’on retrouve les meilleures enseignes de la ville come DIVVY, Enab, Frosty Palace, Tavolina ou encore Internazionale. Plus de 50 établissements ont choisi de développer leur commerce dans les mètres carrés restant qui jonchent la cour St-Michel.

Le jour, gastronomie, shopping et flânerie sont au rendez-vous pour donner une ambiance particulièrement animée au quartier. Mar Mikhael plait pour la grande variété de nourriture qu’il offre. Arrivé le ventre vide dans ce quartier ne pose problème à personne, tellement il y a tant à voir et à manger. D’un bar/pub à un autre, locaux et étrangers s’amusent à parcourir différents endroits pour goûter à un petit déjeuner libanais (labne, zaatar et jibneh), agrémenté de thé et légumes. Le tout dans une ambiance conviviale, idéale pour débuter une belle journée.

Le ventre plein, l’heure est à la promenade et au shopping. Pour cela, les vieux immeubles d’avant-guerre, les anciennes maisons colorées, la vieille gare et les innombrables églises de Mar Mikhael offrent un parcours idyllique pour les adeptes du tourisme culturel.

Un peu plus loin, boutiques de créateurs libanais et étrangers s’alignent pour former le quartier des designers de Mar Mikhael. Diane Ferjane, Vanina et Rosa Maria Concept Store pour les fans de mode ; Mellow et Liwan pour les achats de mobilier décoratif ; et Aurora by Carolina et Ralph Masri pour apprécier la joaillerie libanaise.

Pour les amateurs d’art, Mar Mikhael dispose aussi d’importantes galeries comme la galerie Tanit, la librairie Papercup, Nanou, Zawal ou encore Plan Bey. Autant de boutiques qui proposent, dans une ambiance artistique, des objets de fabrication artisanale, des livres d’art, de photographie ou encore des posters.

En fin de journée, et après un goûteux dîner dans un des plus grands restaurants du quartier, une ambiance festive et multicolore s’ajoute à l’addition, pour les plus tenaces.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

“Le Liban by Libshop”

Retrouvez notre guide touristique “Le Liban by Libshop”.

Des lieux incontournables aux pépites cachées, notre guide est à garder près de vous si vous visitez le Liban !

Nos pépites, par mail