Heading for Tyre, the ancient great Phoenician city

Valérie

July 26, 2019

No Comments

The ruins of Tyre

Situated in southern Phoenicia, Tyre, the ancient great Phoenician city, mistress of the seas and founder of prosperous trading posts such as Cadiz and Carthage, today has a historical role with important archaeological remains dating back to Roman times.

A true legendary tourist destination, Tyre is worth a visit on a historic trip to Lebanon.

Located in the south of Lebanon, Tyre is one of the oldest cities in the country.

Its historical heritage precedes it and continues to impress visitors who come here especially to marvel at archaeological remains such as the Roman baths, the racecourse and the arch.

Tyre inherits a heritage of inestimable value, most of whose remains are inscribed on the World Heritage List.

Tyre's rich history is a real treasure to be exploited. But the uniqueness of this city is not limited to the Byzantines, Ottomans and Crusaders. Tyre is also a modern city where seaside resorts and tourist sites intermingle to entertain and relax visitors.

Like Saida, Tyre is a seaside town with its beach and small port. Among the tourist sites to be absolutely visited are the archaeological sites of Al Medina and AI Bass. A little further north, the old multicoloured port of Tyre also offers a breathtaking view of the entire coastline.

In the Hara district, north-west of Tyre, near the port, a veritable labyrinth of narrow streets invites you to an atypical discovery of colourful family houses, glued together. And finally, the beach of Tyre, located at the southern end of the city, is also an ideal place to swim during the day or for an evening stroll along the Corniche.

And as such, we've prepared you a little post on one of the most "hipster" beaches in Tyr, called Cloud 59!

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

Libshop, healthy food 🌯🌱

Our nuggets, by mail

Cap sur Tyr, l’ancienne grande cité phénicienne

Valérie

26 juillet 2019

Pas de commentaire

Les ruines de Tyr

Située en Phénicie méridionale, Tyr, l’ancienne grande cité phénicienne, maîtresse des mers et fondatrice de comptoirs prospères comme Cadix et Carthage, revêt aujourd’hui un rôle historique fait d’importants vestiges archéologiques datant de l’époque romaine.

Véritable destination touristique légendaire, Tyr mérite le détour lors d’un voyage historique au Liban.

Située dans le sud du Liban, Tyr est une des villes les plus anciennes du pays.

Son héritage historique la précède et continue d’impressionner les visiteurs qui y viennent particulièrement pour s’émerveiller devant des vestiges archéologiques comme les thermes romains, l’hippodrome ou encore l’arc.

Tyr hérite d’un patrimoine d’une valeur inestimable dont les vestiges sont pour la plupart, inscrits au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité.

La richesse historique de Tyr est un véritable trésor à exploiter. Mais la singularité de cette ville ne se limite pas aux Byzantins, Ottomans et Croisés. Tyr, c’est aussi une ville moderne où station balnéaire et sites touristiques s’entremêlent pour amuser et détendre les visiteurs.

Au même titre que Saida, Tyr est une ville balnéaire par sa plage et son petit port. Parmi les sites touristiques à absolument visiter, on citera les sites archéologiques d’Al Medina et d’AI Bass. Un peu plus au nord, le vieux port multicolore de Tyr offre également une vue imprenable sur tout le littoral.

Dans le quartier Hara, au nord-ouest de Tyr, près du port, un véritable labyrinthe de ruelles étroites invite à une découverte atypique de maisons familiales colorées, collées les unes aux autres. Et pour finir, la plage de Tyr, située à l’extrémité sud de la ville, constitue également un endroit idéal pour se baigner en journée ou pour une promenade en soirée le long de la Corniche.

Et à ce titre, on vous a préparé un petit post sur l’une des plages les plus “hipster” de Tyr, répondant au nom de Cloud 59 !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

“Le Liban by Libshop”

Retrouvez notre guide touristique “Le Liban by Libshop”.

Des lieux incontournables aux pépites cachées, notre guide est à garder près de vous si vous visitez le Liban !

Nos pépites, par mail