Batroun, Lebanon's charming asset

Another Lebanese city that is really worth the detour! Known for its lemonades, Batroun is a perfect city for those who love walking. This small coastal town charms its visitors with its pretty little streets where antique houses, old churches, beautiful gardens and a whole panoply of archaeological remains are intermingled.

Located 54 km north of Beirut, Batroun is an essential stop on a trip to Lebanon. For many people, the city is a real favourite and an invitation to travel. Served by a public transportation network (bus), it stands out for its rather industrial setting. A look that makes it even more charming for a city ideally located by the sea.

Batroun is one of the most interesting cities to visit on the Lebanese coast, along with Jounieh or Byblos. This small town draws its charm from the alleys of its old quarter where small shops and nice restaurants live side by side.

In Batroun, a visit to the Saint-Etienne cathedral (Mar Estephan) is a must. Situated on the Mediterranean coast, this superb hundred-year-old cathedral is one of the most beautiful in Lebanon. Built by an Italian architect, it was the symbol of the new inaction of the Maronites on this city of the Lebanese coast in the 19th century.

For shopping enthusiasts, the old souk of Batroun is a place not to be missed. Built in the 19th century and completely renovated in the early 2000s, the souk has lost none of its authenticity. In spite of the pubs that have ended up invading the shops, the souk of Batroun remains the place of reference to go to meet craftsmen butchers, grocers or fruit and vegetable sellers.

Batroun also has a very impressive cultural side. Witness Saydet al Bahr, a chapel built on the ruins of a Byzantine church. An archaeological vestige that deserves to be named Lady of the Sea chapel since it is ideally located by the sea. From this chapel you can enjoy a breathtaking view of the ruins of the Phoenician ramparts.

View this post on Instagram

Hello ❤ #saydetalbahr #batroun ❤

A post shared by Georges Khabbaz ❤ | جورج خباز (@georgeskhabbaz_my_idol) on...

The charms of Batroun never cease to bewitch visitors. Makaad El Mir and the nearby alleyways are also very charming. Similarly, the El Bahsa beach, located right next to Makaad El Mir continues to welcome many subscribers every year.

Leave a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *.

Batroun, l’atout de charme du Liban

Encore une ville libanaise qui vaut vraiment le détour ! Connue pour ses limonades, Batroun est une ville parfaite pour les amateurs de promenade. Cette petite ville côtière charme ses visiteurs par ses jolies petites ruelles où s’entremêlent des maisons antiques, de vieilles églises, de magnifiques jardins et toute une panoplie de vestiges archéologiques.

Située à 54 km au nord de Beyrouth, Batroun est une étape incontournable d’un voyage au Liban. Pour beaucoup, la ville est un vrai coup de cœur qui invite au voyage. Desservie par un réseau de transport en commun (bus), elle se démarque par son décor plutôt industriel. Une allure qui la rend encore plus charmante pour une ville idéalement située en bord de mer.

Batroun est l’une des villes les plus intéressantes à visiter sur la côte libanaise, avec Jounieh ou encore Byblos. Cette petite ville puise particulièrement son charme dans les ruelles de son vieux quartier où cohabitent de petites boutiques et des restaurants sympas.

A Batroun, une visite de la cathédrale Saint-Etienne (Mar Estephan) s’impose. Située au bord de la Méditerranée, cette superbe cathédrale centenaire est l’une des plus belles du Liban. Construite par un architecte italien, elle fut le symbole de la do inaction nouvelle des Maronites sur cette ville de la côte libanaise au XIXème siècle.

Pour les adeptes du shopping, le vieux souk de Batroun est un endroit à ne pas rater. Construit au XIXème siècle et entièrement rénové au début des années 2000, le souk n’a rien perdu de son authenticité. Malgré les pubs qui ont fini par envahir les échoppes, le souk de Batroun demeure l’endroit de référence pour partir à la rencontre d’artisans bouchers, épiciers ou vendeurs de fruits et légumes.

Batroun possède aussi un côté culturel très impressionnant. En témoigne Saydet al Bahr, une chapelle construite sur les ruines d’une église byzantine. Un vestige archéologique qui mérite biens de porter le nom de Lady of the Sea chapel puisqu’elle est idéalement placée en bord de mer. Depuis cette chapelle, on observe une vue imprenable sur les ruines des remparts phéniciens.

View this post on Instagram

Bonjour ❤ #saydetalbahr #batroun ❤

A post shared by Georges Khabbaz ❤ | جورج خباز (@georgeskhabbaz_my_idol) on

Les charmes de Batroun n’en finissent pas d’envoûter les visiteurs. Makaad El Mir et les ruelles proches sont aussi très charmantes. De même, la plage El Bahsa, située juste à côté de Makaad El Mir continue d’accueillir chaque année de nombreux abonnés.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *